A+ A-

Nederlands Dans Theater I


The top contemporary dance company, with loyal audiences all over the world, returns to the Athens Concert Hall with three masterpieces:
Safe as Houses, to Bach’s music, by the incomparable pair Sol Leόn & Paul Lightfoot, is inspired from the Chinese Book of Changes (I Ching) and explores human dependence on the natural environment and the soul’s ability to survive.
Partita for 8 Dancers (a 2018 work) paraphrases the Partita for 8 Voices by American composer Caroline Shaw, which won the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 2013; according to New York magazine, Shaw has ‘discovered a lode of the rarest commodity in contemporary music: joy’.
A new work, Marco Goecke’s Walk the Demon, to music by Pavel Haas and Pehr Henrik Nordgren, sees dance as a visual work of art with a ‘voice’ made audible through motion. The dancers howl, scream, curse, or whisper to themselves. According to Goecke, ‘All life and love is a Thank you, hello and goodbye.’

Safe as Houses
Choreography Sol Leόn & Paul Lightfoot

Partita for 8 Dancers
Choreography Crystal Pite

Walk the Demon (new work)
Choreography Marco Goecke