A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra: Nikos Skalkottas – 70th Death Anniversary

As we approach the end of the Skalkottas Year, we again turn to the oeuvre of the great Greek representative of the 20th-century musical avant-garde. Young double bassist Michalis Semsis, already a distinguished member of the legendary Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, plays Skalkottas’ vertiginously demanding Concerto, while Stefanos Tsialis presents parts of his practically unknown Second Suite. The concert opens with the symphonic work chosen by the jury of the ‘Nikos Skalkottas’ International Composition Contest.

‘Nikos Skalkottas’ International Composition Contest: Award-winning composition

- Nikos Skalkottas: Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra
                              Four parts from the Symphonic Suite No. 2

Michalis Semsis double bass

The Athens State Orchestra
Conducted by Stefanos Tsialis

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45