A+ A-

ECHO Rising Stars:
Matosinhos String Quartet


With the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union

Each year the European Concert Hall Organisation selects a group of outstanding artists to become its Rising Stars. The selected Rising Stars perform a concert tour across the halls of the ECHO network. The ECHO Rising Stars series has existed since 1995 and has shaped the musical careers of many of today’s world class artists.

The aim of the Rising Stars series is to bring young and exceptional young artists to new international audiences. The selected artists are offered unparalleled performance opportunities to present musical programs of their choosing in the major concert halls of Europe. The focus of the series is musical excellence; the artists presented in the series are the best in their chosen field and are hand-selected by the Artistic Directors of our member halls.

- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String quartet, KV 428
- Dmitry Shostakovich: String quartet no 8, opus 110
- José Vianna da Motta: Cenas nas Montanhas
- Maurice Ravel: String quartet in F major

Matosinhos String Quartet was nominated as an ECHO Rising Star by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation - Lisbon & Casa da Música - Porto)
Vitor Vieira violin
Juan Carlos Maggiorani violin
Jorge Alves viola
Marco Pereira cello