A+ A-

Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra
Leonidas Kavakos


Leonidas Kavakos takes on dual role of violin soloist and conductor
with the famous Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra

- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violin Concerto No.3 in G major
- Ferruccio Busoni: Berceuse élégiaque, op 42
- Modest Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition (orch. Ravel)

Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
Violin, conductor: Leonidas Kavakos

One of the leading orchestras of Europe, founded in 1937, the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra (Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France) was re-established in the mid-1970s at the instigation of Pierre Boulez, who did away with the rigidity of the traditional symphony orchestra, instead employing a Philharmonique that adapts simultaneously to any configurations of classical, modern and contemporary repertoire.

Leonidas Kavakos has been announced as the winner of the Léonie Sonning Music Prize 2017. This prestigious prize is awarded annually to an internationally recognised composer, instrumentalist, conductor or singer. Since 1959, the distinguished list of previous prize-winners includes Sir Simon Rattle, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Pierre Boulez, Mstislav Rostropovich, Miles Davis, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Benjamin Britten and Leonard Bernstein. Leonidas Kavakos is the fifth violinist to be awarded the Léonie Sonning Music Prize. Before him, the Music Prize has been awarded to Yehudi Menuhin (1972), Isaac Stern (1982), Gidon Kremer (1989) and Anne-Sophie Mutter (2001).

“Leonidas Kavakos is one of the most expressive violinists you can hear today. He interprets the masterpieces for violin from Bach and Mozart to the classics of the 20th century with authority and with profound musical understanding. His strong personality, virtuosity and the honest, direct nature of his playing mark him out as an artist of rare calibre.”
Esben Tange, Chairman of the Léonie Sonning Foundation.