A+ A-

“Romeo+Juliet x 6”


Athens Concert Hall Organization
Athens State Orchestra

400 years after the death of William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, the most famous couple of all times, still remain young! Their love story continues throughout the centuries to inspire wonderful musical creations, 6 of which will be presented in the concert by the Athens State Orchestra.
A screening of selected visual projections, submitted at the competition “Romeo+Juliet x 6” (collaboration by Megaron-The Athens Concert Hall and the British Council), will accompany the live performance of the musical works of this concert:

- Vincenzo Bellini: I Capuleti e I Montecchi, opera in two acts: overture
- Hector Berlioz: Roméo et Juliette, symphonie dramatique: III. Scene d’ amour
- P. I. Tchaikovsky: Romeo & Juliet Fantasy Overture: Love theme
- Sergei Prokofiev: Romeo & Juliet ballet: Dance of the Knights
- Leonard Bernstein: West Side Story: Overture
- Nino Rota: Romeo & Juliet Suite (OST for Franco Zeffirelli’s film)

Coordination, texts and presentation: Sophia Topouzi

Athens State Orchestra
Conductor: Phaedra Giannelou