A+ A-

Ionian Festival Ensemble


The Ionian Festival Ensemble was formed in Corfu three years ago, as a continuation of the Paxos Spring Festival. In collaboration with the Frankfurt International Ensemble Modern Academy (IEMA), they present contemporary music programmes. From the witty and austere writing of Ravel and Roussel to the explosive expressionism of Weill and Hindemith, the Ionian Festival Ensemble takes us back to the interwar period.

– Kurt Weill: String Quartet No. 1, Op. 8
– Maurice Ravel: ‘Chansons madécasses’, for mezzo-soprano, flute, cello, and piano
– Albert Roussel: Joueurs de flûte, Op. 27, for flute and piano
– Paul Hindemith: Clarinet Quintet, Op. 30 (first version, 1923)

Angelica Cathariou mezzo-soprano

Ionian Festival Ensemble