A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra: 75th Anniversary


For three quarters of a century, the Athens State Orchestra has invariably been the main vehicle for the continued existence and development of symphonic music in this country. The anniversary concert focuses upon two great Greek composers of the past and present respectively, Nikos Skalkottas and George Couroupos, and features great pianist Anatol Ugorski. 

– George Couroupos: The Seven Immortal Virtues
   (World premiere; commissioned by the Athens State Orchestra)
– Ludwig van Beethoven: Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 5, Op. 73 (‘Emperor’)
– Nikos Skalkottas: Ancient Greek March
– Nikos Skalkottas: Little Symphony in B flat major
Anatol Ugorski piano

The Athens State Orchestra
Conductor: Stefanos Tsialis

Free introductory talk by Titos Gouvelis for ticket-holders at 19:45