A+ A-

Leon Botstein conducts the Athens State Orchestra


Megaron - The Athens Concert Hall
Athens State Orchestra

Under the auspices of the U.S. Embassy in Greece

Nikos Skalkottas’ famous Greek Dances and Dimitri Mitropoulos’ revolutionary Concerto grosso, full of daring sonorities, accompany one of the most impressive new violin concertos, composed by celebrated Greek-American composer George Tsontakis and performed by gifted violinist Andreas Papanikolaou and the Athens State Orchestra under the baton (for the first time) of versatile conductor and academic Leon Botstein.

- Dimitris Mitropoulos: Concerto grosso
George Tsontakis: Violin Concerto No. 2
- Nikos Skalkottas: Five Greek Dances
- Richard Strauss: ‘Der Rosenkavalier’ Suite
Antonis Sousamoglou violin

The Athens State Orchestra
Conducted by Leon Botstein

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45