A+ A-

Thessaloniki State Orchestra – Valeriy Sokolov

Zoi Tsokanou and the Thessaloniki State Orchestra present two Romantic masterpieces: Brahms’ superb Violin Concerto, with multi-award-winning Ukrainian violinist Valeriy Sokolov, and Tchaikovsky’s 6th, his last symphony, the famous Pathétique, a passionate journey through dance and emotional tension leading up to complete silence. The evening will open with Dawn at the Parthenon, the first of ‘Two Symphonic Pictures’ by an important figure in the history of Greek music, Cypriot composer Solon Michailidis, a student of Nadia Boulanger, Director of the Thessaloniki State Conservatory (1957-1970), and first conductor (1959-1970) of the newly founded Northern Greece Symphony Orchestra (subsequently Thessaloniki State Orchestra).

- Solon Michailidis: Dawn at the Parthenon
Johannes Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, ‘Pathétique’ 

Valeriy Sokolov violin

The Thessaloniki State Orchestra
Conductor: Zoi Tsokanou