A+ A-

Wiener Concert-Verein ‒ Miltos Logiadis & Christopher Park


A European ensemble of international stature, formed in 1987 by members of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, and Greek conductor Miltos Logiadis come to the Athens Concert Hall immediately after their appearance at the Vienna Musikverein.
Their rich programme is based on the two great Viennese classics: it starts with Haydn’s dramatic Symphony No. 39, known as Tempesta di mare, with the frenetic Sturm und Drang finale, and ends with Mozart’s all-time favourite Symphony No. 40, famous for its first movement. Acclaimed German-Korean pianist Christopher Park (31, the same age as the orchestra) is the soloist in Chopin’s celebrated Romantic Concerto No. 2, and also in Britten’s relatively unknown, though impressive and brilliant, work for piano, string quartet and string orchestra.

- Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 39 in G minor, ‘Tempesta di mare’, Hob. I/39
Frédéric Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21 
- Benjamin Britten: Young Apollo, Op. 16
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 40, in G minor, K. 550

Christopher Park piano

The Wiener Concert-Verein Orchestra
Conductor: Miltos Logiadis