A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra: The Free Man


Kindly supported by the Embassy of the Czech Republic in Athens

Those of you who loved Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull should hear Christos Papageorgiou’s new composition inspired by the novella. Another free and rebellious literary hero, Nietzsche’s Zarathustra kindled the imagination of Richard Strauss who composed one of the finest Late-Romantic symphonic works. The Athens State Orchestra’s former artistic director Vassilis Christopoulos is again at the podium, in collaboration with rising violin star Jan Mráček, in the Brahms concerto.

- Christos Papageorgiou: Jonathan’s Journey (An Athens State Orchestra commission) 
- Johannes Brahms: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, Op. 77
Richard Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra [Thus Spoke Zarathustra], Op. 30

Jan Mráček violin

The Athens State Orchestra
Conductor: Vassilis Christopoulos

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45