A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra: Skalkottas and his Contemporaries III


Alban Berg was one of Skalkottas’ most famous fellow students in Arnold Schoenberg’s composition class: his labyrinthal but atmospheric Violin Concerto will be performed by Tianwa Yang, a Chinese soloist already familiar to Athenian audiences. The programme includes the world premiere of a symphonic work by multi-award-winning young composer Orestes Papaioannou, written in memory of Nikos Skalkottas, and commissioned by the Athens State Orchestra.

- Orestes Papaioannou: ‘Un hommage…’, a tribute to Nikos Skalkottas
(commissioned by the Athens State Orchestra for the 70th anniversary of the composer’s death)
- Alban Berg: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
Nikos Skalkottas: 36 Greek Dances, Series I

Tianwa Yang violin

The Athens State Orchestra
Conductor: Stefanos Tsialis

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45