A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra: Skalkottas and his Contemporaries IV


Kindly supported by the Embassy of Israel in Athens

The tribute to Skalkottas and his contemporaries is completed with the Five Pieces for Orchestra by his teacher, Arnold Schoenberg, a groundbreaking work, a landmark in German musical expressionism. However, this seemingly avant-garde movement was in reality a continuation of the great German symphonic tradition. Weber and Brahms are part of this tradition: two of their most popular works will be performed, under the baton of Israeli conductor Yoav Talmi.

- Arnold Schoenberg: Fünf Orchesterstücke, Op. 16 (Revised 1949 version)
- Carl Maria von Weber: Konzertstück in F minor, for piano and orchestra, Op. 79
- Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

Einar Steen-Nøkleberg piano

The Athens State Orchestra
Conductor: Yoav Talmi

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45