A+ A-

Yiannis Hadjiloizou
Dvořák: Symphony “From the New World”
Mozart: Requiem

- Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No.9 in E Minor Opus 95 “From the New World”
- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem in D Minor K.626

Jennifer Davis sorpano
Victoria Karkacheva mezzo-soprano 
Benjamin Hulett tenor
Alexander Vinogradov baritone

Athens Philharmonic Orchestra & Chorus
Conductor: Yiannis Hadjiloizou

Two monumental works by two great composers in one unique concert. Dvořák’s 9th, known as “New World” Symphony, was written in 1893 during the Czech composer’s post as Director of the National Conservatory of New York, and embodies characteristics from the music tradition of Native Indian and African Americans, expressing his own view of this New World. It was premiered at Carnegie Hall later in the same year with the composer conducting the New York Philharmonic. Today we welcome the debut concert of the Athens Philharmonic Orchestra. The second half of the program includes an imposing performance of Mozart’s infamous “Requiem”, a work of sterilising background and symbolism. The composer accepted a commission for a Requiem by his creditor, in exchange for his debts to him, and in memory of the creditors recently passed wife. Mozart knew that the Count would present the work as his own, having been asked to avoid any genius in the work, in order to remain discreet. Mozart died five months later, leaving the work incomplete. It was later finished by his students Franz Süssmayr, Joseph Eybler, and Franz Freistadler, based on their teacher’s notes and indications, and upon the request of the composer’s wife, Constanze. The only part of the Requiem which was composed exclusively by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart himself, is the “Introitus Requiem Aeternam”. Conducted by the Artistic Director of the above stated musical forces, Maestro Yiannis Hadjiloizou.

Presented by Ms Katerina Nafplioti Panagopoulos, “In Memoriam” Pericles Panagopoulos