A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra
Opening Concert – Reversals and Pioneers I

Human history and art history do not always move in a straight line, nor do they develop at a uniform rate. Through creative imagination and confidence in their revolutionary visions, great spirits have always changed the course of history, and always will, thus revealing new capabilities. This year’s concert cycle explores works and composers that opened and imposed new horizons in music. In his customary appearance as conductor of the Athens State Orchestra’s 2019-2020 season opening concert, artistic director Stefanos Tsialis collaborates with acclaimed pianist George-Emmanuel Lazaridis.

- Ludwig van Beethoven: Die Ruinen von Athen, Overture, Op. 113
                                      Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37

- Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

George-Emmanuel Lazaridis piano

The Athens State Orchestra
Conducted by Stefanos Tsialis

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45