A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra:
Beethoven – 250th Anniversary

After a successful collaboration with the Athens State Orchestra last year, dynamic Belgian conductor Michel Tilkin makes his Athens comeback with Tchaikovsky’s heartbreaking last symphony.
There is a special place for Beethoven’s oeuvre this season, since 2020 marks the 250th anniversary of his birth. As part of this celebration, acclaimed pianist Charalambos Angelopoulos promises a fresh reading of the exuberant yet subtle Second Concerto.
Carl Maria von Weber: Der Freischütz, Overture

Ludwig van Beethoven: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 19

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, ‘Pathétique’ 

Charalambos Angelopoulos piano

The Athens State Orchestra
Conducted by Michel Tilkin

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45

Kindly supported by the Embassy of Belgium in Athens