A+ A-

Athens State Orchestra:
Christmas Concert

The Athens State Orchestra joins in the season’s festive spirit by presenting one of Bach’s most popular works, the Christmas Oratorio. This oratorio does not focus so much on narrating the birth of Jesus as on rendering the spirit of His advent and announcing its eternally joyful message. An introversive work interspersed with moments of majestic grandeur: existential joy has no need of loud cries. World-class Greek and foreign singers, under the baton of George Petrou, invite us to an exalting Christmas experience!

- Johann Sebastian Bach: Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248 (Cantatas 1, 2, 3)

Myrsini Margariti soprano
Sonja Runje mezzo-soprano 
Krystian Adam tenor
Petros Magoulas bass

The Athens State Orchestra
The ERT Chorus 
The Athens Mixed Municipal Choir

Conducted by George Petrou

Free introductory talk for ticket holders at 19:45