A+ A-

Nikos Skalkottas:
Music for Cello and Piano

A tribute on the 70th anniversary of the death of Nikos Skalkottas 

Danae Kara and Vassilis Lykos: musical dialogues between the acclaimed virtuosos revive Skalkottas’ works for cello and piano alongside works by his contemporaries.

A kaleidoscopic look at Skalkottas’ time through his dreamy works Tender Melody and Little Serenade, the lively Boléro, and the more extensive, three-movement Sonatina with the introversive slow movement and the characteristically dynamic fast movements; these works are set against Zoltán Kodály’s single-movement Sonatina,
Olivier Messiaen’s heavenly Louange à l’Éternité de Jésus, and, finally, Samuel Barber’s post-romantic Sonata, in contrapuntal juxtaposition to the international modernist trends.

- Olivier Messiaen: Louange à l’Éternité de Jésus, Movement V of the ‘Quartet for the End of Time’ [‘Quatuor pour la fin du temps’], for cello and piano
- Nikos Skalkottas: Sonatina for Cello and Piano
                               Tender Melody 
                               Boléro, for cello and piano
                               Little Serenade, for cello and piano
 - Zoltán Kodály: Sonatina for Cello and Piano
- Samuel Barber: Sonata for Cello and Piano in C minor, Op. 6
Vassilis Lykos cello
Danae Kara piano