A+ A-

State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia "Evgeny Svetlanov"

Daniel Raiskin


Since its formation in 1936, the Symphony Orchestra of the former USSR has been the ultimate representative of the Russian symphonic sound. The orchestra made history during its 35-year collaboration with legendary conductor Evgeny Svetlanov, and continues its brilliant career to this day under leading conductors. In its Athenian comeback, the State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia, under the baton of Daniel Raiskin, will perform two of Tchaikovsky’s masterpieces: the Symphony No. 5 with the poignantly romantic slow movement and the tempestuous finale; and the Violin Concerto, one of the most melodious and virtuosic works for the instrument, with acclaimed violinist Sasha Rozhdestvensky.

- Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Elegy in Memory of Ivan Samarin.
                                          Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
                                          Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

Alena Baeva violin

The State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia ‘Evgeny Svetlanov’
Conducted by Daniel Raiskin