A+ A-

Leonidas Kavakos – Enrico Pace

Ludwig van Beethoven: The sonatas for violin and piano


As part of the international celebrations of Ludwig van Beethoven’s 250th birthday, the Friends of Music Society organizes three concerts (31 Jan., 29 Mar., 10 Oct. 2020) featuring two world-class soloists. Leonidas Kavakos and Enrico Pace will perform the entire cycle of ten sonatas for violin and piano that Beethoven composed within a period of approximately twenty years. These works dominate the classical repertoire, as each one of them is important in its own way and all of them together outline the development of the great composer’s personality.

"The unrivaled elegance and beauty of Leonidas Kavakos’s sound would be reason enough to embark with him on a traversal of the complete Beethoven sonatas for violin and piano, but it’s the probing musicianship he and the excellent pianist Enrico Pace bring to it that makes the ride so thrilling. The conversations, arguments and flirtations between violin and piano that Beethoven writes into these sonatas are all rendered with spirit and impeccable taste".
                                                                                         New York Times, December 2013

- Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 2 in A major, Op. 12/2
                                       Sonata No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 12/3
                                       Sonata No. 6 in A major, Op. 30/1
                                       Sonata No. 7 in C minor, Op. 30/2

Leonidas Kavakos violin
Enrico Pace piano