Celebrating the 150th Anniversary of Sibelius' Birth - Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Celebrating the 150th Anniversary
of Sibelius’ Birth

Celebrating the 150th Anniversary
of Sibelius’ Birth

MMA exterior


In collaboration with the Embassy of Finland in Athens

Event to mark the 150th anniversary of the birth of Jean Sibelius (1865-1957).
Sibelius is recognized as one of the most remarkable symphonists of the 20th century and a reformer of the symphonic form and genre. In his home country he is the national icon who expressed the spirit of the Kalevala and Finnish myths in music. This event, dedicated to his life and work, will try to show how Sibelius became Sibelius and to open new avenues to understanding his contribution to music.

Pre-concert lecture by Eero Tarasti:
“How Sibelius Became Sibelius” – Observations and Notes on the Emergence of His Style

– Romance op. 24, No. 9, D flat Major (1901)
– Barcarola op.24, no 10
Eila Tarasti piano

– Illalle (A.V.Forsman-Koskimies), opus 17 no 6 (To the Evening)
– Säf, säf susa (G. Fröding), opus 34 no 4  (Ingalill)
– Flickan kom ifrån sin älsklings mote (J.L.Runeberg), opus 37 no 1 (The Tryst)
– Jag är  trädet (E. Josephson), opus 57 no 5 (The Tree)
– Var det en dröm (J. J Wecksell), opus 37 no 4 (Was it a dream)
– Demanten på marssnön, opus 36 no 6 (Diamond on a March snow)

Laura Pyrrö soprano, Eila Tarasti piano       

– Quintet in G minor for Piano and String Quartet
Ensemble of the Helsinki University Music Society: Petrus Laitinmäki, 1st violin – Elias  Lassfolk, 2nd violin – Mikko Metsälampi, viola – Holger Kaasik, cello – Eero Tarasti, piano

You may also see:
In collaboration with the Music Library of Greece “Lilian Voudouri”
of the Friends of Music Society

“Sibelius and Greece” (7 p.m. – 8 p.m.)
A discussion between Eero Tarasti and Greek musicologists and musicians, about the influence of Sibelius on Greek composers. In the discussion are participating among others, Byron Fidetzis, conductor, and Professor Dimitris Yiannou.
(Multipurpose Room of the Friends of Music Society
Music Library of Greece “Lilian Voudouri”)

See also

Εκκλησιαστήριο Αρχαίας Μεσσήνης / Ancient Messene - Ekklesiastirion


Leonidas Kavakos – Apollωn Ensemble
Bach Violin Concertos

Leonidas Kavakos accompanied by the Apollωn Ensemble, an ensemble of leading Greek musicians of...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Thursday 11.07.2024, 20:30


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.