Nikos Skalkottas for String Quartet - Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Nikos Skalkottas for String Quartet

Nikos Skalkottas for String Quartet

MMA exterior



Skalkottas, a top violinist himself, composed and transcribed for string quartet: the fine atonal 10 Sketches of 1940, one of his most characteristic works, are ten miniatures drawing inspiration from the pre-classical (passacaglia) and classical tradition (suite, concerto), as well as from the music of his time (ragtime). The 8 Greek Dances, out of a total of 13 that he transcribed for string quartet, are transcriptions from the 36 Greek Dances for Orchestra, the most famous and emblematic Greek composition. The evening closes with another 1940 work, Dmitri Shostakovich’s mellow Piano Quintet, which was awarded the Stalin Prize.

Domna Evnouhidou, an internationally acclaimed soloist and an active teacher, collaborates with four leading chamber musicians.

– Nikos Skalkottas: 10 Sketches for String Quartet
                              8 Greek Dances transcribed for string quartet
– Dmitri Shostakovich: Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 57
Domna Evnouhidou
Dimitris Handrakis violin
Andreas Papanikolaou violin
Hará Seirá viola
Angelos Liakakis cello

See also



Janine Jansen – Denis Kozhukhin

For some artists, introductions are unnecessary. Violinist Janine Jansen and pianist Dennis Kozhukhin  belong...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Tuesday 16.04.2024, 20:30
Constantinos Carydis


Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Constantinos Carydis
Jan Lisiecki

Megaron the Athens Concert Hall welcomes one of the finest Greek artists, the conductor...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Saturday 20.04.2024, 20:30


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.