Nikos Skalkottas for String Quartet - Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Nikos Skalkottas for String Quartet

Nikos Skalkottas for String Quartet

Κουαρτετο εγχορδων


Skalkottas, a top violinist himself, composed and transcribed for string quartet: the fine atonal 10 Sketches of 1940, one of his most characteristic works, are ten miniatures drawing inspiration from the pre-classical (passacaglia) and classical tradition (suite, concerto), as well as from the music of his time (ragtime). The 8 Greek Dances, out of a total of 13 that he transcribed for string quartet, are transcriptions from the 36 Greek Dances for Orchestra, the most famous and emblematic Greek composition. The evening closes with another 1940 work, Dmitri Shostakovich’s mellow Piano Quintet, which was awarded the Stalin Prize.

Domna Evnouhidou, an internationally acclaimed soloist and an active teacher, collaborates with four leading chamber musicians.



Domna Evnouhidou



Dimitris Handrakis / violin
Andreas Papanikolaou / violin
Hará Seirá / viola
Angelos Liakakis / cello


Nikos Skalkottas

10 Sketches for String Quartet
8 Greek Dances transcribed for string quartet


Dmitri Shostakovich

Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 57

See also

ΣΦΜ_ Βάλς- 2023


Johann Strauss Ensemble

The magical Christmas atmosphere becomes more festive with the music of Vienna! Decorated with...

Organizer: Friends of Music Society

09 - 10.12.2023
keramidis etc


Iason Keramidis
Benedict Klöckner
Apostolos Palios

This year marks one hundred and fifty years since the birth of Sergei Rachmaninoff,...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Monday 11.12.2023, 20:30


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.