Works for violin and piano - Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Works for violin and piano

Works for violin and piano Chamber Music

Παντελιάδης- Ζαχαριας


If one considers that all the works of this evening’s concert were written over a period of fifty or so years, one cannot but admire the many and varied musical styles under development during the first half of the 20th century. During the years when Ravel (and with him, all of Paris) was discovering jazz, Szymanowski in Poland was studying the Greek antiquity and the Islamic culture, writing music of a new-found sensuality. At the same time, in Vienna, where Brahms had reigned supreme for decades, Schoenberg was teaching (among others, to Nikos Skalkottas) a new atonal musical language, foreshadowing an unprecedented revolution. Violinist George Zacharias and pianist Marios Panteliadis present typical works for violin and piano of this turbulent and fascinating era.



George Zacharias


Marios Panteliadis


Karol Szymanowski: Myths, opus 30

Maurice Ravel: Sonata for violin and piano no. 2

Nikos Skalkottas: Little suite no. 1 for violin and piano (1946)

Johannes Brahms: Sonata for violin and piano no. 3 in D minor, opus 108



Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.