Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Athens String Quartet

Athens String Quartet

MMA exterior



Among the most active Greek ensembles of recent years, and daring in their artistic choices, the Athens String Quartet are tackling works of great importance and profound symbolism: The Art of Fugue [Die Kunst der Fuge], Bach’s last and incomplete monothematic work; and Beethoven’s prophetic, six-movement String Quartet No. 13, Op. 130, with its original finale, the Great Fugue [Große Fuge]. Alfred Schnittke’s astounding String Quartet No. 3 serves as a connecting link between the two: a multistylistic work, with direct allusions to Bach and Beethoven’s Große Fuge, as well as to Dmitri Shostakovich, who carried the art of the string quartet into the 20th century. A challenging programme, featuring emblematic works of the 18th, 19th, and 20th century. 

– Johann Sebastian Bach: Die Kunst der Fuge: Subject and Contrapuncti 6, 4, 9
– Alfred Schnittke: String Quartet No. 3 
– Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130
(Original version, with movement VI: ‘Große Fuge’)

The Athens String Quartet
Apollon Grammatikopoulos
Panagiotis Tziotis violin
Paris Anastasiadis viola
Isidoros Sideris cello

See also

Αιθουσα Μητροπουλος


The sea within us and our own sea

A route across the Mediterranean, from Cyprus to Spain, and from the Middle Ages...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Monday 28.11.2022, 20:30


Yuja Wang
Leonidas Kavakos

In a letter to Johannes Brahms, Clara Schumann had confessed that she would like...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Wednesday 30.11.2022, 20:30


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.

By continuing to use our website, you agree with the use of cookies. More info.

Οι ρυθμίσεις των cookies σε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα έχουν οριστεί σε "αποδοχή cookies" για να σας δώσουμε την καλύτερη δυνατή εμπειρία περιήγησης. Εάν συνεχίσετε να χρησιμοποιείτε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα χωρίς να αλλάξετε τις ρυθμίσεις των cookies σας ή κάνετε κλικ στο κουμπί "Κλείσιμο" παρακάτω τότε συναινείτε σε αυτό.