Megaron Athens Concert Hall > The Athens Concert Hall Organisation

The Athens Concert Hall Organisation


The Athens Concert Hall Organisation was founded in 1981. Christos D. Lambrakis, who served as the first President, took up the responsibility for the completion of the building and the opening of Megaron. The Athens Concert Hall is a non-for-profit organisation administered by an eleven-member board of trustees, the majority of whom are appointed by the Ministry of Culture and Sports and the Ministry of Finance, and whereas three of them are appointed by the Friends of Music Society– also a non-for-profit charitable association.

The Concert Hall is a creative arena for cultural and educational activities, an arts centre organised along contemporary lines to promote the role of culture in the community.

We are committed to ensuring that all events staged at the Concert Hall are of the highest quality. The programmes consist largely but by no means exclusively of classical music and opera, complemented by more contemporary compositions, works from around the world, music by younger composers, as well as dance, theatre, cinema and the visual arts. Greek music will always play an important part in the programmes we offer.

Through our themed series of events, known as Megaron Plus, and through the work of the Music Library of Greece “Lilian Voudouri”, as well as a range of other educational programmes and activities, we hope to provide a valuable service appealing to young people and audiences from outside the capital city.


President: Νikos E. Pimblis

Vice President: Ioannis Marinos

Members: Constantinos Elianos, Panayiotis Dimaras, George Donatos, Thalia Karaindros, Spilios Manias, Christina Bousoulega, Fotis Papathanassiou, Christina Papaconstantinou, Maria Travlos

Secretary to the Board: Eliza Tastsoglou-Dimitriadi


General Manager: Efthalia Kapitsina

Artistic Director: Janis Vakarelis

Department of Finance: Kostas Stamenis

AnnexM: Anna Kafetsi

Production Department: Irini Andreadi

Communication & Marketing Department: Eleni Didaskalou

Department of Conferences & Sales: Zenia Kerasidou

Facilities Technical Department: Theodoros Stathopoulos

Technical Department: Kostas Charalambidis

House Management: Giorgos Kyriakopoulos


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.

By continuing to use our website, you agree with the use of cookies. More info.

Οι ρυθμίσεις των cookies σε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα έχουν οριστεί σε "αποδοχή cookies" για να σας δώσουμε την καλύτερη δυνατή εμπειρία περιήγησης. Εάν συνεχίσετε να χρησιμοποιείτε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα χωρίς να αλλάξετε τις ρυθμίσεις των cookies σας ή κάνετε κλικ στο κουμπί "Κλείσιμο" παρακάτω τότε συναινείτε σε αυτό.