Renato Ripo – Philipp Kopachevskiy - Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Renato Ripo – Philipp Kopachevskiy

Renato Ripo – Philipp Kopachevskiy

MMA exterior



A Russian evening, an evening full of the romantic sound of the cello, interacting with a composer’s fundamental expressive medium, the piano:
The sad Pezzo capriccioso of the great Russian romantic, Tchaikovsky, as well as extracts from The Nutcracker in a unique transcription for solo piano by top contemporary pianist and conductor Mikhail Pletnev. The Chanson triste, the melancholy Romance, and the exotic Orientale by lyrical composer Anton Arensky. And the passionate, magnificent four-movement sonata by Arensky’s pupil Rachmaninoff.
An evening dedicated to the tenderest moments of the great Russian Romantics!

– Sergei Rachmaninoff: Sonata in G minor for cello and piano
– Anton Arensky: From 4 Morceaux, Op. 56:
                           Chanson triste, No. 3
                           Orientale, No. 1
                           Romance, No. 2
– Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky / Mikhail Pletnev: From the ‘Nutcracker’ orchestral suite (transcription for solo piano):
                                                                   1. March
                                                                   2. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
                                                                   7. Pas de deux
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Pezzo capriccioso, Op. 62

Renato Ripo cello
Philipp Kopachevskiy piano


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.