Four PianosJanis Vakarelis, Cyprien Katsaris, G.- E. Lazaridis, A. Wastor - Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Four Pianos
Janis Vakarelis, Cyprien Katsaris, G.- E. Lazaridis, A. Wastor

Four Pianos
Janis Vakarelis, Cyprien Katsaris, G.- E. Lazaridis, A. Wastor

4 piana photo 3


If the piano alone can sometimes sound like an entire symphony orchestra, how rich could be the sound of four pianos playing together? Four established and internationally acclaimed pianists, unite their experience, virtuosity and expressiveness to present a panorama of favourite works of the symphonic and operatic repertoire in imaginative transcriptions for four pianos. However well one may know these works in their original versions, it is worth discovering their “unseen” aspects, brought to light by the lucid and unique sound of the piano, and experiencing their inspired transformation by the talented musicians who transcribed them, among whom Nicolas Economou, the great and prematurely departed Cypriot pianist, stands out. The evening closes with Ravel’s Boléro, choreographed by Konstantinos Rigos for the Greek National Opera Ballet at the suggestion of Janis Vakarelis, inviting us to remember that “Boléro” was initially a dramatic and technically demanding dance of 18th century Spain, performed with castanets.

In collaboration with the Greek National Opera

els- pianos


Educational programmes for adults

07.10.2021 The transcription of musical works: A conversation with Achilles Wastor. Admission free with admission tickets (online reservation)

24.10.2021 Masterclass with Janis Vakarelis.



Janis Vakarelis

Cyprien Katsaris

George- Emmanuel Lazaridis

Achilleas Wastor



Richard Wagner: Tannhäuser overture (transcription: Carl Burchard)

Antonio Vivaldi: Four Seasons opus 8, Concerto No. 1 in E major, Op. 8, RV 269, “Spring” (La primavera)  (transcription: Nicholas Ikonomou)

Georges Bizet: Carmen Fantasy (transcription: A. Wastor)

Franz Liszt: Rakoczy march, S. 244c

Mikis Theodorakis: Ballet Suite- Zorba (transcription: A. Wastor)

Maurice Ravel: Bolero, M. 81 (transcription: Jacques Drillon)

With the participation of the National Opera Ballet

choreography by  Konstantinos Rigos 


See also

Constantinos Carydis


Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Constantinos Carydis
Jan Lisiecki

Megaron the Athens Concert Hall welcomes one of the finest Greek artists, the conductor...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Saturday 20.04.2024, 20:30


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.