Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > French music for six

French music for six

Γαλλική Μουσική για έξι


Unlike the German composers, whose chamber music writing focused traditionally on strings, many French composers of the 19th and 20th centuries were more open to experimenting with the special sound colours of the wind instruments and using them with the well-known French inventiveness and finesse in their works. The Sextet by Louise Farang (the first female piano teacher at the Paris Conservatoire) was written in 1851-52 and is the very first work in the history of music for a woodwind and piano quintet. Her example was followed many decades later, with even greater success, by Francis Poulenc and Jean Françaix, who wrote light, graceful, humorous and pleasantly eccentric music.




Danae Kara




Aeolus Wind Quintet

Vangelis Stathoulopoulos flute

Yiannis Tselikas oboe

Angelos Politis clarinet

Spiros Kakos horn

George Faroungias bassoon


Louise Farrenc: Sextet for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano in C minor, opus 40


Darius Milhaud: La cheminée du roi René (The Chimney of King René), suite for woodwind quintet, opus 205


Francis Poulenc: Sextet for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano


Jean Françaix: L’heure du Berger (The hour of Berger), for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano

See also

Αιθουσα Μητροπουλος


The sea within us and our own sea

A route across the Mediterranean, from Cyprus to Spain, and from the Middle Ages...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Monday 28.11.2022, 20:30
Μουσική Δωματίου


Chamber music for viola, clarinet and piano

What happens when the velvety sound of the clarinet is joined by the dark...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Wednesday 07.12.2022, 20:30


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.

By continuing to use our website, you agree with the use of cookies. More info.

Οι ρυθμίσεις των cookies σε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα έχουν οριστεί σε "αποδοχή cookies" για να σας δώσουμε την καλύτερη δυνατή εμπειρία περιήγησης. Εάν συνεχίσετε να χρησιμοποιείτε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα χωρίς να αλλάξετε τις ρυθμίσεις των cookies σας ή κάνετε κλικ στο κουμπί "Κλείσιμο" παρακάτω τότε συναινείτε σε αυτό.