Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Greek Revolution 50 years from Stravinsky’s death

Greek Revolution 50 years from Stravinsky’s death The Athens State Orchestra Concerts

ΚΟΑ 2020-21


A new work, written by the leading composer Christos Samaras and commissioned by the Athens State Orchestra (ASO), pays tribute to the Bicentennial of the Greek Revolution. This year also marks the fiftieth anniversary of the death of the great pioneer of 20th-century music, Igor Stravinsky. The distinguished violinist Antonis Sousamoglou performs the Concerto for the violin of the great Russian composer, proving that Stravinsky’s music continues to captivate our interest to this day. The concert ends with Tchaikovsky’s enchanting Francesca da Rimini, under the musical direction of Italian conductor Pier Carlo Orizio.



Antonis Sousamoglou


conducted by

Pier Carlo Orizio


Christos Samaras: Freedom or Death (commissioned by the ASO for the Bicentennial of the Greek Revolution)

Igor Stravinsky: Concerto for violin and orchestra in D

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini, Symphonic Fantasy after Dante, opus 32



See also

ΚΟΑ 2020-21


100 years since the birth of Iannis Xenakis

The creative work of Iannis Xenakis has left an indelible mark on the musical...

Organizer: Athens State Orchestra

Friday 09.12.2022, 20:30


“I was born in Salonica”

“This evening’s programme is based on the idea of two of our most important...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

10 - 11.12.2022


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.

By continuing to use our website, you agree with the use of cookies. More info.

Οι ρυθμίσεις των cookies σε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα έχουν οριστεί σε "αποδοχή cookies" για να σας δώσουμε την καλύτερη δυνατή εμπειρία περιήγησης. Εάν συνεχίσετε να χρησιμοποιείτε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα χωρίς να αλλάξετε τις ρυθμίσεις των cookies σας ή κάνετε κλικ στο κουμπί "Κλείσιμο" παρακάτω τότε συναινείτε σε αυτό.