Megaron Athens Concert Hall > Events > Joaquín Orellana Mejía: Sinfonía desde el Tercer Mundo (Symphony from the Third World)

Joaquín Orellana Mejía: Sinfonía desde el Tercer Mundo (Symphony from the Third World)

MMA exterior



documenta 14
Athens State Orchestra
Megaron – The Athens Concert Hall

Maestro Joaquín Orellana (b. 1937), one of Latin America’s foremost composers, interprets the recent history and soundscape of Guatemala within a larger imagination, influenced by colonialism, civil war, economic deprivation, as well as cultural exchange and innovation –all expressed by the notion of the Third World. The performance is the world premiere of the symphony.

– Joaquín Orellana Mejía: Sinfonía desde el Tercer Mundo (world premiere)

Athens State Orchestra
Athens Municipal Choir
Choir of the Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation – ERT
Children’s Choir of the Athens Conservatoire “Little Musicians”
(Director: Christina Michalaki,
under the artistic direction of Kalliope Germanou)
Percussion Orchestra «Útiles Sonoros» (Director: Dimitris Desyllas)
Traditional marimba ensemble (7 players) from Guatemala

Conductor: Maestro Julio César Santos Campos

See also

EdoLilipoupoli-COMPOSERS-Christodoulou-Kypourgos-Maragopoulos- Platonos (colour)


“This is Lilipoupoli”

“This is Lilipoupoli”: The legendary radio series associated with the era of Manos Hadjidakis’...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

03 - 04.12.2022
Μουσική Δωματίου


Chamber music for viola, clarinet and piano

What happens when the velvety sound of the clarinet is joined by the dark...

Organizer: Megaron Athens Concert Hall

Wednesday 07.12.2022, 20:30


Be the first to know about our events, performances and our latest news.

By continuing to use our website, you agree with the use of cookies. More info.

Οι ρυθμίσεις των cookies σε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα έχουν οριστεί σε "αποδοχή cookies" για να σας δώσουμε την καλύτερη δυνατή εμπειρία περιήγησης. Εάν συνεχίσετε να χρησιμοποιείτε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα χωρίς να αλλάξετε τις ρυθμίσεις των cookies σας ή κάνετε κλικ στο κουμπί "Κλείσιμο" παρακάτω τότε συναινείτε σε αυτό.